TISS GK Preparation Series: GK is a very important section for TISS especially since the verbal and the quant sections are relatively easy. Hence, getting a good score in GK can easily be the difference between getting a TISS call and not getting one. To help you ace this section, we are starting a series of articles devoted to topics commonly asked in the TISS GK section. We hope that this will help you in your preparation. Every article will also be available in PDF format. Here is our #6 article in this series: Summits and Conferences.

‘Summits and Conferences’ is another topic which is quite often tested in TISSNET and other competitive exams. We have tabulated a list of important summits/conferences which were held recently or are going to be held in the near future. Along with this, we have also added a brief on a few important organizations.

Summit/Conference Venue
BRICS Summit, 2015 Ufa, Russia
G7 Summit, 2015 Schloss Elmau, Bavaria, Germany
G20 Summit, 2015 Antalya, Turkey
SAARC Summit, 2016 Islamabad
APEC Summit, 2015 Manila
NAM Summit, 2015 Qatar
ASEAN Summit, 2015 Kuala Lampur
Pravasi Bharatiya Diwas, 2015 Gandhinagar
Pravasi Bharatiya Diwas, 2016 New Delhi
UN Climate Change Conference, 2015 (COP 21) Paris
Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting, 2015 Malta
Indian Science Congress, 2015 Mumbai
Global Earth Hour, 2015 Seoul
National Conference on e-Governance, 2015 Gandhinagar
Renewable Energy Global Investors Meet & Expo, 2015 New Delhi
World Hindi Conference Bhopal


Important World Agreements/Associations/Organizations

 The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is an economic and geopolitical organization of eight countries that are primarily located in South Asia or the Indian subcontinent. The SAARC Secretariat is based in Kathmandu, Nepal.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a political and economic organization of ten Southeast Asian countries. It was formed on 8 August 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Since then, membership has expanded to include Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar (Burma), and Vietnam.

Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) is an international organization headquartered in Vienna, Austria. OPEC was established in Baghdad, Iraq on 10–14 September 1960. In 2014 OPEC comprised twelve members: Algeria, Angola, Ecuador, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Venezuela.

The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) is an agreement signed by Canada, Mexico, and the United States, creating a trilateral rules-based trade bloc in North America. The agreement came into force on January 1, 1994. It superseded the Canada–United States Free Trade Agreement between the U.S. and Canada.

The Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA) was signed in 1975. It is the oldest preferential trade agreement between countries in the Asia-Pacific region. Its aim is to promote economic development and cooperation through the adoption of mutually beneficial trade liberalization measures. Member nations are Bangladesh, China, India, Republic of Korea, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Sri Lanka, and Mongolia.

The World Trade Organization (WTO) is an intergovernmental organization which regulates international trade. The WTO officially commenced on 1 January 1995 under the Marrakesh Agreement, signed by 123 nations on 15 April 1994, replacing the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), which commenced in 1948. The WTO’s current Director-General is Roberto Azevêdo, who leads a staff of over 600 people in Geneva, Switzerland.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an international organization headquartered in Washington, DC, of “188 countries working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world”. Formed in 1944 at the Bretton Woods Conference, it came into formal existence in 1945 with 29 member countries and the goal of reconstructing the international payment system.

The World Bank is an international financial institution that provides loans to developing countries for capital programs. It comprises two institutions: the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA). The World Bank is a component of the World Bank Group, and a member of the United Nations Development Group.

Download PDF of this article here: TISS 2015 GK Preparation – Summits and Conferences

Practice over 450 GK questions here: General Awareness Course

Read the entire series here: TISS GK Preparation

For TISS NET 2017 aspirants, we have come up with a mock test series replicating the exact format of TISS NET. The first mock is free. Try them out here – TISS Mocks by Learningroots


error: Content is protected !!
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from learningroots!

You have successfully subscribed! :)